Recommendations for… slower-paced books

Happy Monday, everyone! Even though I participate in giving Monthly Recommendations, I thought I would start my own where every couple weeks I give recommendations for a specific topic (also Monthly Recommendations has been a bit dead lately so).

Today I’m doing recommendations for slower-paced books. Sometimes, I want to be immersed in a book that isn’t very plot-heavy or action-packed. It’s nice to explore characters sometimes.

untitled design (1)

The Secret History and The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt: I loved both The Secret History and the Goldfinch, and both of them are slow-paced, character-driven novels (Secret History especially). I think if you want an atmospheric, almost gothic read with a fantastic setting (and #aesthetic), The Secret History is the one for you. If you want a book with a bunch of interesting characters and settings with slightly more plot, The Goldfinch is the one to go for.


Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro: this is one of the most beautifully written books I’ve read in a while, and it’s stuck with me since I read it. There is a plot in this book, but it’s much more about the characters and their relationships.

The Power by Naomi Alderman: this book may seem a little weird on this post because there isa lot of action; however, I found it slow-paced nonetheless. Not in a bad way, though. Alderman took the time to examine the characters, their motivations, and their reactions to different scenarios and to the changing world. It was really interesting, and I think if you want a character-driven book that still has action, this one would be great.

Women Talking by Miriam Toews: even though this book takes place over two days, it’s fairly slow-paced. It’s told in the form of meeting minutes, which made it (for me) fairly slow-paced. Again, it’s really a character study. I highly recommend it.

untitled design (1)

So those are some slow-paced books I recommend! Have you read any of these? What were your thoughts? What are some of your favourite slow-paced books? Let me know!

Thanks for reading! xx


Twitter // Goodreads //Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Untitled design (1)

15 thoughts on “Recommendations for… slower-paced books

  1. The only novel I’ve read from your list is Never Let Me Go, but I adored that so darn much. I also read The Remains of the Day by Ishiguro, which was even better, in my opinion – I just love his writing and the way he develops the plot and the characters. I really want to read The Power, and you made me interested in Women Talking – I’ll add it to my to-read list. Great post idea!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Because I love some of these books so much, I sometimes forget how long it took me to read them?? Never Let Me Go took me like a month I think, even though it’s so short, but like….is one of the best books I’ve read. Flying through a book isn’t always a measure of it’s greatness, I guess!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Same!!! Never Let Me Go took me a couple of weeks to read, but I loved it so much. I honestly find flying through books not great for me because I don’t feel invested in them. When I have time to read a book over a longer period of time, I find I almost always love it more.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s a good point! I think it sinks in more when I take longer? And if I really, really love a book I get the point where I don’t want it to end so I purposely drag it out.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment