November Wrap-up

November was a bit of a shit show!! School was crazy busy!



Books Read

Because of school, no reading for fun happened.



Reviews posted

Book review: Strange the Dreamer: 4.5 stars

Book review: Dark Matter: 4 stars


Book discussions posted

Books that made me weirdly emotional


Recommendations given

Monthly recommendations: relatable characters


Other bookish posts

Top Ten Tuesday November 6: Backlist Books I Want to Read // 25 Bookish Facts About Me // New Goodreads Shelf: Read Soon or Remove // Tag Tuesday: Blog All Day, Meme All Night Book Tag


Haul

I bought a bunch of Christmas books for people! But none for me (jk they’re all secretly for me too).



From around the internet

I both managed to read a ton and read almost nothing. I have so many screenshots on my phone I still need to read. So expect those on a later post.


The Army of Women Who Took Down Larry Nassar: from Glamour mag. Judge Rosemarie Aquilina is everything I aspire to be in life. This was also just such a great read, and I highly recommend it.

“In her 14 years on the bench, she has made it a cornerstone of her judicial philosophy to let victims, defendants, and their friends and families speak.”


Fascism is Not an Idea to Be Debated, It’s a Set of Actions to Fightfrom LitHub. A really really great read.

“I was overwhelmed by a feeling of betrayal, since it appeared to me that Bannon […] was welcome to a large tumbler of high-end bourbon, after a stimulating debate on an America he deems endangered by unruly people of colour and immigrants.”


“[…] only those safe from fascism and its practices are far more likely to think that there might be a benefit in exchanging ideas with fascists. What for such a privileged group is a matter of a potentially productive difference in opinion is, for many of us, a matter of basic survival.”


“Fascism is a masculine ideology, and therefore inherently misogynist.”


Why Are Pelvic Exams on Unconscious, Unconsenting Women Still Part of Medical Training?: from Slate. *gags* BIG trigger warning for sexual assault.


20 DEBUT WORKS OF FICTION BY WOMEN OVER 40: from LitHub again. This is such a great and inspiring list.


Medicalization and Demedicalization — A Gravely Disabled Homeless Man with Psychiatric Illness: from the New England Journal of Medicine. This was so sad, and some of the things said by the doctors and residents was just………bad. But a really important read.


Facebook removed over 1.5 billion fake accounts in the last six months: from Engadget. Um, 1.5 BILLION fake accounts???? wtf Facebook??? I wrote a thing for school this month on my opinions on the internet and how the government is going have to get itself in check before long.


WHAT ONE PERSON CAN DO TO GET PEOPLE READING: also from LitHub. This was maybe my favourite read from this month, and I highly recommend reading it.



Other news and highlights

  • I went to a Senators game earlier in the month, and it was a lot of fun! They lost (because I jinxed them) but it was fun!
  • There are these things called “moots”, which are basically lawyer competitions. My school has one of the best mooting teams in the world, and they have a first-year one. My friend and I did it and it was a lot of work and stress, but also a lot of fun and a great experience!
  • Some of my friends and I went to a trivia night, and it was so much fun!!
  • One of the papers from my thesis is being published in a national journal!!!!!!! You can bet your ass I’ll put a link as soon as it’s published!!!

Just a bit of an update: finals are starting (panic), so I’m vvv busy with school, so I’m going to be a little away on the blog for the next couple of weeks. Just know I’m not ignoring you or your posts!!! Thanks for understanding!!! You can follow me here on Twitter if you want to keep up with my daily struggles!


Thanks for reading! How was your month?

xx

8 thoughts on “November Wrap-up

Leave a comment