Books with the best (in my opinion) writing

If a book has good writing, I will 100% be tricked into loving it. It’s the fastest and easiest way to my heart. These are some books that have, in my opinion, some of the best writing

untitled design (1)

Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro: this book just has such a great flow. It’s told as if you’re talking to the narrator and she’s telling you a story, and it works really well. I also really enjoyed the story, which helps.

Everything I Never Told You by Celeste Ng: I just ,,,,,, love Celeste Ng’s writing. I love her flow, I love her stories, I love everything about her books. This was my favourite book of last year, and it’s so lovely.

Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov: I know this book is somewhat controversial, but the writing is beautiful. It’s honestly one of the most beautifully written books I’ve ever read.

Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie: Adichie has a way of writing really mundane things and making them interesting. Her characters are super interesting and complex, and the story flows so well.

Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor: again, Taylor is just a super talented writer. Her writing is pretty and flowy but not pretentious.

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern: we all know and love this book. The setting is probably the best I’ve ever read, and it’s just so beautiful.

The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt: again, the setting of this book is amazing. And Tartt’s ability to write distinct characters is amazing. I don’t think I’ve read better characterization in a while.

Sp those are some books with my favorite writing. What about you? Have you read any of these? What’s books have your favorite writing? Let me know!!!

Ally xx

23 thoughts on “Books with the best (in my opinion) writing

  1. I love good writing, but I don’t always like books that are well-written. Characters are the biggest draw for me instead. I can put up with less-than-stellar writing if the characters are well-developed.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Omg I so agree! The only books I have read on this list were Never Let Me Go and Strange the Dreamer. Got through half of Lolita so far but I have every intention of picking it up again in the future. Loved the others. For the Goldfinch, it was purely the writing that kept me going when the plot dragged in the middle. I can’t wait to check out Tartt’s other book.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I highly recommend Never Let Me Go and Strange the Dreamer!! They’re both so different, but so well-written. I hope you enjoy the rest of Lolita! And same about the Goldfinch! Even the parts that dragged were well-written enough that I didn’t mind

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Great post! I’ve heard soo many people mention The Night Circus for this, and me being a sucker for beautiful writing, I’m just here questioning my existence since I havent even read it yet 😂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I just finished Ladder to the Sky. It has stayed with me—the mark of a wonderful book. The best contemporary fiction I’ve read is “All the Light there is.” Best writer is E. Annie Proulx in “The Shipping News”. Best classic books are “As I Lay Dying” by Faulkner, “Hotel New Hampshire” by Irving, and Hemingway’s short stories.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s definitely the best marker of a great book!

      I think All the Light There Is is on my TBR, so I’m definitely excited to read it! And I’ll definitely have to look into all the others 😀

      Like

Leave a comment