How well does Goodreads know me?

I got this idea from Caitlin and thought it was brilliant, so I copied it (thank you for the inspiration!!!). She has a lovely blog and does great reviews, so go take a read!

Essentially, you look at the books Goodreads recommends to you and decide whether you’d read them or not. This round was based off my best-of-the-best shelf and my currently reading shelf.


Books I would read

Dear Martin by Nic Stone

I’m interested in a book about social justice??? What??? Who would’ve guessed?? This book seems like something I would 100% read.

The Poisonwood Bible by Barbara Kingsolver

This is about religion and seems right up my alley. One of the moms at the barn I ride at was raving about Barbara Kingsolver the other day, and this one in particular sounds great.

The Summer We Got Free by Mia McKenzie

This sounds so interesting and very thriller-like, but also chill? Like it would be a thriller but with really good writing, if that makes sense.

Asking for It: The Alarming Rise of Rape Culture and What We Can Do about It by Kate Harding

Again, another book I would totally read. A feminist, non-fiction about rape culture? Yes please!


Books I’m unsure about

The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Díaz

This is a solid maybe depending on what other people think. Have you read it? Thoughts? Let me know!

The Many Lives & Secret Sorrows of Josephine B. (Josephine Bonaparte, #1) by Sandra Gulland

Again, this sounds like something I’d maybe read if I heard great things about it. Let me know if you’ve read it!


Books I wouldn’t read

The Thief by Megan Whalen Turner // H.I.V.E by Mark Walden // Over Sea, Under Stone by Susan Cooper // Ask the Passengers by A.S. King // Waiting For You by Susane Colasanti

I know 100% that if I read these books in junior high or early high school, I would have loved them. Unfortunately I think I missed the boat. I would have loved them in high school when I was in my YA phase, but I don’t think they’re for me now.


So I added 4 books to my TBR! I had a lot of fun with this post, so I’ll probably do it again!

Have you read any of these? What were your thoughts? Let me know!

Thanks for reading! xx

20 thoughts on “How well does Goodreads know me?

  1. You might change your mind about some of the YA ones later on. I go through YA YES! and YA NO! phases, personally. Also, I have read Susan Cooper’s Dark Is Rising sequence (which includes Over Sea, Under Stone) and I found it to be an enjoyable story. They remind me of the Narnia books in tone — for youth, but equally readable by adults — though as I recall they are different in story and message.

    I haven’t read any of the others on your list, but The Poisonwood Bible is on my TBR, so hopefully semi-soon you’ll get to read what I think about it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is such a fun post idea! I understand why you put The Thief in the “probably not” category, but I would actually recommend giving it a chance if you like fantasy. It feels more like a classic than your regular YA and something you can enjoy at a variety of ages. I’ve been reading the series for the first time over the past year and have been really impressed with it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment