October wrap-up!

Happy November, friends! And Happy Halloween! I hope you all have (or had) fun Halloween plans. October was super busy with work, and it’s only going to get busier.

But anyway, let’s talk about the books I read this month!

Books Read

  • The Midnight Library by Matt Haig: 3.5 stars
  • Last Call by Elon Green: 4 stars

My reading slump unfortunately has not ended. As you may remember, I had big plans for the last few months of the year, but alas. I’ve just been so busy with work that I don’t feel like reading when I get home. But I’m hoping to reading more in November (not likely to happen, but a gal can hope).

Currently reading

  • Red Comet by Heather Clark: I am still working my way through this. I considered DNFing it, but I am interested in it. So I’ll persist and listen to it whenever possible.
  • A History of my Brief Body by Billy-Ray Belcourt: I actually finished listening to this book, but want to listen to it again over the next couple of weeks, so I’m considering this a “currently reading”.
  • A Ghost in the Throat by Doireann Ní Ghríofa: I got this from the library recently, and am about 80 pages in and enjoying it! I plan to finish it the first week of November, all things going well.

Things watched

  • Survivor: Blood vs. Water: I really enjoyed this season! I thought it was a lot of fun, the Blood vs. Water twist was really great, and it was overall a great time. I was really happy with the winner, as well.
  • Survivor: Borneo: since my partner and I caught up to where we started, we decided to go back and watch the early seasons! I really enjoyed Borneo and see why it’s a classic. I thought Richard definitely deserved to win as he was literally the only person playing. Overall, a really great season.
  • Survivor: Australia: I really enjoyed this season! It’s probably one of my favourites, honestly. It’s a great mix of old and new Survivor (which is surprising considering it’s the second season), and I love the cast. Perhaps an unpopular opinion, but Tina did not deserve to win this season. I don’t particularly like Colby, but I think he played a better game overall than Tina. But ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
  • Squid Game: I, like everyone else, have been watching Squid Game. I’m about halfway through right now and really, really enjoying it. It is emotionally devastating, but very well done and interesting.
  • The Bachelorette: Michelle’s season of the Bachelorette started this month! I’m v excited to get back into the drama. I’m also doing a couple of brackets with a couple of my friends, so I’m very excited about that as well.

Reviews posted

Other bookish posts

What to read if you don’t like reading // Books I want to read before the end of the year // Auto-buy authors // Recommending some standalones // Books on my TBR: books about anger // Books described with clickbait titles // In or Out Book Tag

Other news and highlights

  • I am really wracking my brain for what I did in October lol
  • For the bar course in Alberta, I had to do a week-long workshop, so that was something. I’m happy it’s over lmao
  • We had Canadian Thanksgiving! My partner and I had dinner with family one day and his family the other day, so we got a lot of turkey and leftovers. It was really good to see our families and also have an extra day off.
  • This month was really busy at work. I ended up working a lot of overtime hours that I haven’t completely used up yet. But I made a lot of great progress on some files and opened some new files, so it was a good working month overall.
  • My partner and I went to a candlelit string quartet concert the Saturday before Halloween, and it was really great! They played a lot of ~spooky~ classical music, and a few theme songs for Halloween movies. It was one of the first things we’ve done since covid, so it was great to have some normalcy.
  • November is going to be really busy. I have my first ever trial scheduled, and I have to prepare for another trial and a Landlord-Tenant Board hearing scheduled in early December. I also have a lot of other things that need to get resolved or at least organized before the Christmas break. I ALSO am starting the next phase of our bar course, so I will probably be even more absent this upcoming month. Wish me luck!

How was your October? What have you read this month? Have you watched anything recently? Let me know!

Ally xx


Twitter // Instagram // Goodreads // Buy me a coffee!

4 thoughts on “October wrap-up!

  1. I’m sorry about your reading slump, but maybe cooler weather will help with that? I’m not sure if you’re the type who enjoys curling up with a book and a blanket or not, but the season does tend to help me if I’m in a reading slump heading into the cooler months.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment