May wrap-up!

Happy June, friends! I hope you had a great May! My May was definitely better than my April, so let’s get into it!

Books Read

  • American Predator: The Hunt for the Most Meticulous Serial Killer of the 21st Century by Maureen Callahan: 4 stars
  • The Billionaire Murders: The Mysterious Deaths of Barry and Honey Sherman by Kevin Donovan: 3.5 stars
  • The Fact of a Body by Alex Marzano-Lesnevich: 4.5 stars
  • Happy Place by Emily Henry: 5 stars
  • My Body by Emily Ratajkowski: 4 stars

This was the best reading month I’ve had in a while! I really enjoyed all these books and feel like I’m getting back into my reading groove a little (fingers crossed).

Currently reading

  • I’m still working my way through Rage Becomes Her by Soraya Chemaly, which I’m really enjoying, it’s just slow-going.

Things watched

  • Mulholland Drive (2001): this was our movie club pick this month, and I really enjoyed it! I was confused most of the time, but I was enjoying it. Vibes were great, this was fun, and I highly recommend it.
  • Picnic at Hanging Rock (1975): I also really enjoyed this! It was super interesting, and again had great vibes. Highly recommend.

Blog posts

Other news and highlights

  • This was a really great month!
  • For Mother’s Day, we went to my in-law’s for dinner, which was great! My MIL got a massive tool box for her scrapbooking supplies, which she loves sososo much.
  • The following Monday, me and her went to a book sale. Once a year, Calgary has a huge charity book sale, with super cheap books, so we went to look around. There were so many books, so even though I’m on a kind of book buying ban, I bought three (they’re used and were cheap so it doesn’t count!)
  • The weather was really great for the first part of the month, so I went for lots of walks (hence all the audiobooks I read this month). The geese eggs hatched, so there have been a bunch of baby geese along my walks, which is so cute!
  • I went for coffee a bunch of times this month, with some old friends and some new ones! It was nice to meet some new people, and also catch-up with some friends I hadn’t seen in a while.
  • As I’m writing this, I’m at a conference in Montreal! My submission was one of the top abstracts selected, so I got to present on a special panel with the other top abstracts! I presented a project I worked on about the COVID vaccine, and it went really well! I got some great questions and had a great time hearing about the other presenters.
  • And because Montreal and Ottawa (where I went to law school) are so close, I went to Ottawa before the conference, which was so great. Two of my closest friends from law school are there, so we hung out all weekend and it was the best weekend. We went out for dinner one night, then did a canal tour and made homemade pizza the next day, and then went for brunch and coffee and a walk by Parliament on the last day. It was such a great weekend.
  • I also met my online friend Jill, the Book Bully on Youtube! We had brunch, went to her favourite local indie bookstore, and got coffee. It was so great to meet in-person and hangout IRL.

Anyhow, how was your May? What have you been up to? Any reading plans? Let me know!

Thanks for reading! xx

Ally xx


Twitter // Instagram // Goodreads // Buy me a coffee!

6 thoughts on “May wrap-up!

Leave a comment