Tag Tuesday: the Time and Place Tag

I read this tag and thought I definitely needed to do it! The goal of this tag is to name 10 books that remind you of a certain time and place. I couldn’t do 10, because I often associate a book with the place where it takes place, rather than the place I read it, so I did 6 instead.


And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie

I read this skiing at Panorama a few years ago and loved it. It’s one of my favourite mystery novels ever and I think it’s fantastic. It reminds me of Panorama because that’s where I finished it. I had brought it to the restaurant to read because I thought we were driving to the restaurant, but we ended up walking so I just had it there with me. It’s so good.

The Luxe Series by Anna Godbersen

These books remind me of junior high, which is when I read them. They don’t remind me of the cringey parts of junior high, but rather the parts when I feel like I was learning about feminism, in a subtle way. Even though they’re books about young women trying to find love, I honestly think they helped shape me into the person I am now.

My Name is Memory by Ann Brashares

I read this at church camp the first time I went. It’s an interesting book and I liked it a lot, but I’ll always know it as the book I brought to camp.

Skullduggery Pleasant by Derek Landy

I read this when my family lived in Australia and I loved it a lot!!!! It always reminds me of my classroom at my school there. There are parts of this book that still make me laugh (I don’t know, littering perhaps??).

Haters by Alisa Valdes-Rodriguez

I read this with my best friend in Ottawa the first time we went when we were in grade 7. I remember loving it and it always reminds me of reading until 2 am in out hotel room. We still know it as the fish tacos book. Literally, while writing this post, I texted her saying “fish tacos book. what was it called” and she knew exactly what I was talking about. BFF goals right there.

Eva Ibbotson’s books

I have her three books Island of the Aunts, the Secret of Platform 13, and Which Witch?, and I read them all when I was younger. These books evoke such strong feelings of deja vu for something I haven’t experienced, but even years later I get this feeling. It’s just something about the descriptions in these books. Is deja vu cheating?


Thank you for reading! Let me know if you’ve read any of these books!
xx

2 Replies to “Tag Tuesday: the Time and Place Tag”

Leave a Reply

