Unpopular opinion Friday #3

Unpopular opinion #3: destroyed books

I got this idea after reading Annie’s post over here! She talks about her unpopular opinions (but she’s much more concise than I am) and one of them was destroying books.

I’ll admit it, I don’t keep my books in pristine condition. I dog-ear my pages. I crack the spine. I underline my favourite quotes. I might spill things on them because I’m a klutz. I don’t keep them in dust jackets or anything.

I just feel like it makes the books more personal?? Like when you go to someone’s house and everything is perfect and you feel like you can’t touch anything. That’s how I feel about pristine books. If it’s destroyed a little, it means that I love this book and have read it several times. The first page of our copy of the Goblet of Fire is missing (we actually have no idea how, it was just partially ripped out. I think by our dog but idk). The Handmaid’s Tale is all crinkly from sun and use. My copy of Howl’s Moving Castle is underlined all over the place (notably ‘I am cone sold stober’). I just like using books to their full potential. I don’t really understand keeping them in new condition, but that’s just me.

HOWEVER the one thing I never do is fold over the covers. That is probably one of my pet peeves. It just makes the book sit funny forever after that and I can’t deal with covers that stick straight up. I also never do anything to other people’s books.

Let me know your thoughts! Do you destroy books? Do you never do anything to your books?

Thanks for reading! xx

8 Replies to “Unpopular opinion Friday #3”

  1. Nice post. For the most part, I keep my books in decent condition, but I buy used books a lot so I’ve bought several books that are already a bit tattered. And that’s fine. I don’t write in them or dog ear pages, but sometimes I wish it didn’t bother me so much to enjoy a book in that way.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I don’t destroy my books, I like to keep them in pristine condition because I’m a perfectionist like that. But I can totally understand why people do it! I’m actually hoping to start underlining passages from my favourite books when I reread them, but I think that’s about as far as I’m willing to go 🙈

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

