Standalone Sunday: Ash

Standalone Sunday is a feature created here where each Sunday you feature a standalone book (not part of a series) that you loved or would recommend!

In honour of Pride Month, I’m going to feature a different book with an LGBTQIAP+ character for each Standalone Sunday the rest of the month. This week I’m highlighting Ash by Melinda Lo!


Paraphrased from Goodreads:

In the wake of her father’s death, Ash is left at the mercy of her cruel stepmother. Consumed with grief, her only joy comes by the light of the dying hearth fire, rereading the fairy tales her mother once told her. In her dreams, someday the fairies will steal her away, as they are said to do. When she meets the dark and dangerous fairy Sidhean, she believes that her wish may be granted. The day that Ash meets Kaisa, the King’s Huntress, her heart begins to change. Instead of chasing fairies, Ash learns to hunt with Kaisa. Though their friendship is as delicate as a new bloom, it reawakens Ash’s capacity for love-and her desire to live. But Sidhean has already claimed Ash for his own, and she must make a choice between fairy tale dreams and true love.


I rated this as 3/5 stars.

I read this book when I was like 13 and didn’t know it was f/f romance so I was confused for a while haha. However, I remember really enjoying it and thinking it was super interesting. It was my first exposure to LGBTQ+ literature, and I think it was a good first book. I think if I read it again today, I would probably rate it higher (but 3/5 is still good in my books. It means I enjoyed the book a lot, but wasn’t blown away by it).

Thanks for reading! Let me know if you’ve read this book!
xx

Leave a Reply

