Standalone Sunday: Gillespie and I by Jane Harris

Standalone Sunday is a feature created here where each Sunday you feature a standalone book (not part of a series) that you loved or would recommend!

This week I am highlighting Gillespie and I by Jane Harris!

11398200


Paraphrased from Goodreads:

Harriet Baxter relates the story of her acquaintance with Ned Gillespie, a talented artist who never achieved the fame she maintains he deserved. Back in 1888, the young, art-loving, Harriet arrives in Glasgow at the time of the International Exhibition. After a chance encounter she befriends the Gillespie family and soon becomes a fixture in their lives. But when tragedy strikes, the promise and certainties of this world all too rapidly disorientate into mystery and deception. Featuring a memorable cast of characters, infused with atmosphere and period detail, and shot through with wicked humour, Gillespie and I is a tour de force from one of the emerging names of British fiction.


3/5 stars

I read this book a while ago (early high school) and have yet to re-read it; however, I really enjoyed reading it and had a hard time putting it down!

It’s kind of mystery-ish, kind of crime-ish, kind of historical fiction-ish. I’d never read anything like it before and I haven’t read anything like it since reading it. It was super interesting and really held my attention. There’s a bit of a cliffhanger-ish ending, but as we all know I’m a fan of those. It’s not like there are any strings untied, but not all the questions are answered, which leaves you guessing.

I would recommend it to anyone who wants an easy read that is still very interesting!


Thanks for reading! xx

Leave a Reply

