Ally Bakes Things: Chocolate chip cookies

These are my favourite ever chocolate chip cookies. I’ve had this basic recipe for like 20 years (because I’m old af) and have just updated it throughout the years.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup of butter (or margarine, which is what I use 99% of the time)
  • 1 cup of brown sugar
  • 1 cup of granulated sugar (sometime’s I’ll halve the white sugar, it really just depends on your preferences)
  • 1 tsp double strength vanilla
  • 1 tsp regular vanilla (I’m really high maintenance, but trust me double strength vanilla will change your life)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 2-3 cups of flour (definitely more than 2, maybe not as much as 3)
  • chocolate chips (I use semi-sweet and also sometimes add dark chocolate)

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. 
  2. In a large mixing bowl, combine the butter/margarine, sugars, and vanilla until creamed.
  3. Add eggs and stir.
  4. Combine flour and baking powder and soda. Stir and add your chocolate chips.
  5. Place cookies in large-ish balls (2-3 tbsp of batter, but I just guess-timate)
  6. Bake for 10-12 minutes.

 

I also highly highly suggest rolling some of the dough into balls and freezing them. Then, when you want cookies, just bake them for 12-15 minutes at 350. They turn out so good!

I hope you like these as much as I do 🙂 let me know if you try them! xx

Leave a Reply

