2016 Year in Review

Now that it’s 2017, I thought I would do a 2016 year in review. This is mainly just for me for reading back later, so sorry if it’s really long (spoilers: it is).

I was recovering from a concussion on December 31st, so 2016 started with me drinking orange juice with my family and boyfriend. That weekend, we spent some time at Lake Louise. I skied one day at Sunshine and went skating on Lake Louise the next day. I spent the rest of the week starting horseback riding again and doing not much.

img_2849

I started school January 11, which was also my mom’s birthday so we went out for dinner. Looking at my planner, I had only one paper due all of January, so I wasn’t busy with school at all. That paper was my ethics paper, which we didn’t get back for almost a month and when we did, I fought my mark (and won!!! and got my mark 15% higher).

February was also a pretty quiet month. I officially became a double major, so that was exciting. That’s about all I remember from February.

March was fairly busy. My boyfriend and I celebrated 3 years together on the 3rd 🙂  I went to a Nightwing concert on the 5th, the day before my 20th birthday. But on my actual birthday, I had to go to a midterm review and study for the two midterms I had that week, so I never really celebrated my birthday. I did a horse show at Spruce Meadows, which went alright. My friend had a girls night, which was my first party with that group of friends and was a lot of fun.

I also started working in the Health Technology Assessment Unit at the U of C and went to my first team meeting in March. I also started working on a systematic review in March, which gave me a lot of important skills.

Finally, my family (minus my brother because he was in India) went to Fernie for Easter weekend. It was really fun and the skiing was great.

April was busy. The first weekend of April was spent filming a video for one of my classes. We spent almost 8 hours across two days to film that project. It actually ended up being really good and we all laughed a lot and did really well on the assignment. I had three papers due in the last week of school, one of which I spent a ridiculous amount of hours on. Finals were also that month, which were all pretty good.

img_3034

I officially started working for the HTA in May and went to my first conference, which was a great experience. Work was really great and I did a lot of cool things. I started two projects that month, one of which I presented at a conference in September and another which I worked on in August. I also did two horse shows (read about them here!) and was really happy with them.

I had a bit of a falling out with some friends from high school this summer, which really started in May. Honestly, it was (and still is) kinda shitty, but I guess it’s just something that happens in life. I did, however, go out for pizza with some friends I hadn’t really seen in a while, so that was good.

My brother graduated high school!!! His ceremony was the end of May and the dinner/dance celebration was in June. It was a lot of fun going to both of them, even if it was a little awkward having to see some of the people I went to high school with.

img_3144

In June, the HTA officially started working on our marijuana project, which was my favourite project. I looked at the adverse health effects of recreational marijuana use, which was really interesting. It was a lot of work, but I’m really really proud of that project.

I also started my blog in June!!!!!!!!!!!! That was a really great decision and I’ve been really enjoying it.

I met up with my friends from university and we planned times to go camping as a group. I drank two margaritas before remembering that I had to drive home, so I had to awkwardly call my parents, but it was fine. A bunch of us went camping at the end of the month, which was a lot of fun even though it rained. The rain just added to the excitement.

I also watched Inception for the first time ever in June with my brother and his friend Noah. We also went at midnight to this place called Big Rock, which was fun. Yay for summer night adventures!

I was supposed to get together with a bunch of high school friends, but they all bailed or “forgot” about it. Instead, I had my boyfriend, best friend, and another friend over for drinks and Cards Against Humanity, which ended up being a lot of fun. I also did a Paint Nite with one of my other best friends, who I hadn’t seen in a really long time, and it was a lot of fun.

img_3228

July started with me doing another horse show, which again went really well. Then, I left for vacation! You can read all my travel diaries of that trip here. It was the best trip ever I think, and it was really really great.

August also started with a horse show, which again went really well. It was also the Olympics, which meant streaming them to my laptop at work (thanks to the best boss ever for letting me do that!!!!!!). I started working on the palliative care project at work, which gave me a lot of really good skills regarding communication, as the person I was working with was in Edmonton, and compromise, as she was really busy. I also put together my project from June and it was sent to Alberta Health, so that was exciting. And I gave a presentation on my summer projects to my colleagues at work, which went really well. They’re all a really great group and I’m so fortunate to have been able to work with them.

My family went backpacking together for the first time in August too. It was really fun (here). I went for dinner with some of my friends from high school, finally, one of which I’d kind of fallen out with. Dinner didn’t really resolve anything, but it was still nice to see her. I also went to a party hosted by one of the guys I knew from high school, which ended up being really fun. My brother had to come pick me up from a McDonald’s, but it was all good.

img_3573

My friend Cienna had her birthday party September first, so we went to this Mexican restaurant and I got the biggest margarita ever. It was a lot of fun and it was nice to see a bunch of my friends. I also went to the Champions Welcome at Spruce, which was good.

I presented some of my research at the CASCH conference, which was a lot of fun. I also started helping my colleague with some of her work, which was another good learning experience. I started school, but was also working part time, so learning to balance that was good. I also started working with my practicum supervisor, who is really nice.

My friends and I went to Beakerhead, which is an art and science event in Calgary. It was a lot of fun and super interesting. I also went to the infamous REGRUB in Calgary, which does fancy milkshakes.

Looking at my planner for October, it was a hell of a month. Counting, I had 11 things due for school and 14 meetings. So it was super busy. But I did a lot of fun things too. My friends got married the first weekend of October, so that was super exciting! It was my friend Megan’s birthday party on the 15th, which was my first time getting puke-drunk (not fun). I went to a football game with my family on the 21st. And my friends had a Halloween party the 29th. So it was a busy month, but it was one of the best I think.

I also started an independent research project for course credit in October with my work. I basically took one of their projects and made it into a class. Holy hell, was it a lot of work. We did a systematic review, and the search identified 28,799 potentially relevant articles. So managing that was a lot of work, but so rewarding and I really learned a lot.

November was fairly busy too. I had two lunch meetings for work in the first week, which were both good. I also continued to work on my independent project, which was a shit ton of work but again, really good. We finished writing that and I’m so proud of it.

The fateful election happened. I shared my thoughts on that, and nothing has really changed. I’m remaining worried and just hope that good will always win.

Three of my friends had birthday parties this month too. One of my friends took us all out for karaoke, which was a lot of fun. Then, my best friend had her party at Knoxville’s, which is a club I actually don’t mind. It was so much fun and I’m so glad we made those memories together. Finally, my friend Andrea had her party near the end of November, and it was a house party at her friend’s. It was super fun and interesting and crazy, but I had a good time.

img_3776

(looking at these photos I realise how often I wear that denim shirt out. maybe I need new clothes lol)

December finally!!! December was fucking cold. The weather had been relatively mild up until this point, but it dropped in December and it was cold. School was busy, as I had finals and final papers and things like that. But all my classes ended up being really good and I did really well this semester! I had a presentation in my practicum class that went really well and two papers which also were really good.

Also my mom and I published a paper together!!! I’m so happy my first one was with her 🙂

I celebrated my 7 year anniversary with my horse Maggie!! That’s a third of my life that she’s been with me, which is so exciting.

img_3834

I hosted a Christmas party for my friends where we decorated cookies and drank sangria. It was a lot of fun and I was reminded what it was like to have friends who actually get excited when I host parties. I also went to a pub night for my high school and it was good to see some of my old teachers and friends.

img_3819

Christmas was also good and I got lots of wonderful things. Finally for New Years, TWO of my friends had parties, so I went to TWO DIFFERENT New Years Eve parties (that’s more NYE parties than I’ve ever been invited to). Both were so much fun and I’m so grateful for all my friends.

img_3871

This year had really been a great year. I started a great job and found some really good friends. Though it was a tough year in a lot of ways, it was a really good year for me. Thanks to everyone for all your support.

pictures

Leave a Reply

