Tag Tuesday: Reader Confessions

Tag time!!!

Have you ever damaged a book?
I dog-ear books, so if that counts then yes. Also our copy of the fourth Harry Potter book has no cover and the first two pages are partially missing, but I don’t know how that happened.

Have you ever damaged a borrowed book?
I don’t really borrow books, so I’m going go with no.

How long does it take you to read a book?
Generally a week. I only really read in the summer or winter breaks, but it normally averages to a week. I did read the Goldfinch in five days though.

Books that you haven’t finished?
I stop reading books if I’m not enjoying them, so there’s quite I few tbh. The most recent ones would be All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven, which has the most annoying main character I have ever read, and the Sunbird by Wilbur Smith, which also has the most annoyingly pretentious character ever. My brother and dad LOVE this book but I honestly can’t stand the main character.

Hyped popular books that you don’t like?
Again, All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven. Also Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell (review here). I also wasn’t the biggest fan of the Fault in Our Stars. Don’t get me wrong, it was great and I like it, but I thought people hyped it up more than it deserved.

Is there a book you wouldn’t tell anyone you were reading?
Oh definitely. A lot of the YAs I read in junior high/early high school probably.

How many books do you own?
Way too many. I’m not going to count them, but we have floor-to-ceiling bookshelves on two of our walls in the living room that are filled with books, books in the office room, books in the basement, books in totes, books in my room, and Kindles. So a lot of books.

Are you a fast reader or a slow reader?
I think I’m pretty average. When I like a book, I read it really quickly, but some books are just hard to read too fast.

Do you like to buddy read?
I’ve never tried, tbh. If anyone wants to over winter break, let me know!

Do you read better in your head or out loud?
In my head. I have minor dyslexia, so reading out loud is a struggle.

If you were only allowed to own one book what one and why?
I honestly don’t think I can choose one. I don’t even have a favourite book, so I can’t choose just one.

Thanks for reading!
Ally xx

Leave a Reply

