Tag Tuesday: the New York Book Tag

Another book tag I haven’t been tagged in but wanted to do anyway!! I think I might start making this a tradition, maybe every Tuesday I do a tag or something like that? Idk, I just love talking about things I like, especially books.

Anyway, this is the New York Book tag. It started here as far as I can tell, so thank you to the creators!

What book is on your nightstand now?
I have several that I haven’t started. The Book of Negroes by Lawrence Hill, the White Masai by Corinne Hofmann, Bones Never Lie by Kathy Reichs, the Best Laid Plans by Terry Fallis, and Open Heart, Open Mind by Clara Hughes. Part read is the Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood, plus my kindle.

What was the last truly great book you’ve read?
The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt and Lolita by Vladimir Nabakov. I think I’ve talked about these books to death and I’ve mentioned them to everyone but I absolutely adore them and they’re the only great books I’ve read in the past few years.

If you could meet any writer – dead or alive – who would it be? And what would you want to know?
Obviously JK Rowling, because I think she’s a fantastic person too and I think we’d get along on a lot of things. But also Agatha Christie, because I adore her. Also Margaret Atwood because she seems like a boss-ass bitch.

What books might we be surprised to find on your shelf?
Honestly, I share my bookshelves with my parents and brother and sister, so we have everything and I mean everything. You can find the Bible, the Koran, and the History of Psychology next to each other on one shelf and John Green, Harry Potter, and CHERUB on another. But on my Kindle, I have a lot of crappy series from when I was in junior high, so maybe one of those?

How do you organize your personal library?
It’s not well organized, honestly. Books by the same author are together and series are in order, but that’s about as organized as it gets.

What book have you always meant to read and haven’t gotten around to yet?
The Book of Negroes by Lawrence Hill. It was on my summer reading list but it’s so daunting that I haven’t started it yet.

Disappointing, overrated, just not good: what book did you feel you are supposed to like but didn’t?
I haven’t finished it yet but All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven. I’m working on it, but I hate the main character (sorry). Also 1984 by George Orwell. I tried, but it wasn’t that great.

What kind of stories are you drawn to? Any you stay clear of?
I’ll honestly read just about anything. I like romance, mysteries, thrillers, crime, historical fiction, fantasy, spy novels, religious books, anything really. I guess I stay away from biographies and non-fiction that aren’t memoirs. I’m also kind of over the whole apocalyptic dystopian future, so I don’t choose it for myself, but I will read it if someone recommends it to me.

If you could require the president (or Prime Minister in Canada???) to read one book, what would it be?
Oh God, I have no idea. Maybe actually reading the Bible would be useful. I also think everyone should read the Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood. It’s sosososo good.

What do you plan to read next?
I’m in school, unfortunately, so reading is hard. I’ll keep working on the Jennifer Niven one and over winter break I might finally try the Book of Negroes. There’s so many books I want to read that it stresses me that I don’t have the time to.

Thanks for reading xx

Leave a Reply

