Summer Favourites

Alrighty so summer is almost over and it’s been a gooder for sure. Though I’m not much of a beauty person, I do really enjoy beauty and makeup and fashion. So I thought I’d post my summer favourites in regards to beauty. Just for fun, because this blog is really just for me to talk about things I like to talk about, and makeup is one of them.

North American Hemp Company moisturizer

https://well.ca/products/north-american-hemp-co-omega_22332.html (you can get this for $6 at Winners)

I used this moisturizer last summer for a while before my mom threw it out by accident. But I found it a couple months ago at Winners and I was super excited because it was my favourite. This brand in general is awesome. They’re vegan and all-natural and there’s no animal testing, which is something I’m super passionate about. This moisturizer is great, especially if you have oily skin like me. It does make your skin feel a little chalky for about 15 minutes after using it, but it’s super moisturizing and doesn’t make me break out.

Dermorganic’s shampoo

https://www.amazon.ca/Argan-Sulfate-Free-Color-Safe-Conditioning-Shampoo/dp/B000B63Y1K/ref=sr_1_12?s=beauty&ie=UTF8&qid=1472959086&sr=1-12&keywords=dermorganic

I just started using this shampoo like 3 weeks ago but let me tell you, it is so great. I found it at Winners (again) and it’s also not tested on animals, which is a prerequisite for most of my beauty products. It makes my hair feel so healthy. My hair is normally soft, but it doesn’t necessarily feel healthy if that makes sense. This shampoo makes it feel so good. And my hair lasts for more than two days!! Amazing!! The only downside is that it smells kind of like Rockets, the candy, which I find a little weird. But oh well, it’s so great.

Body Shop Argan Oil

http://www.thebodyshop.ca/en/bath-body-care/body-massage-oils/wild-argan-oil-the-radiant-oil-for-body-hair.aspx

My boyfriend got this for me for valentine’s day because I said I wanted some and handed it to him in the shop (lol). But I’ve been using it a lot this summer. It definitely makes my hair less frizzy. I generally apply it either right into my hair when it’s semi-dry and comb it through the bottom or spray it onto my hands and rub it through when it’s semi-dry. I think it’s definitely been helping with split-ends. It was also great when we were in Greece and my hair was super dry. It just made it feel that much better.

Rocky Mountain Soap Company Apricot Lip Balm

(https://www.rockymountainsoap.com/ not for the lip balm, but here’s the company)

Recently my parents went on an all-natural kick and got rid of all our lip balm. My dad gave my mom a book on marketing for Mother’s Day and in it they talked about how a lot of lip balm companies put salicylic acid in their lip balm to dry your lips so you buy more product. Then my dad looked up the lip balm we used to use and found out there’s some toxins in it. So they threw them all away and we started using this company. It’s all made here in Alberta from mainly organic products, so that’s great. It’s super moisturizing and I definitely found I have to use it less than I did with our old stuff. There’s a bunch of different flavours, but the Apricot and Lemon Lime ones are my favourite for sure.

Revlon Matte Balm in the colour 270 – Fiery

http://www.revlon.ca/products/lips/lip-color/colorburst-matte-balm#309975726701||0

Okay I don’t know why more people don’t talk about these things. But they are so great. They’re basically just matte lipsticks with a bit more of a lip balm formula. They have a very light minty taste and scent, which is always nice. But this colour is gorgeous. It’s super bright without being obnoxious and it’s very pretty. It’s one of my go-tos. The staying power is pretty good, but I normally have to reapply after eating. But overall, I highly recommend these.

Derek Lam sunglasses

http://www.dereklam.com/cassis-sunglasses/d/2052 these but in black

Okay so upon looking for a link for these, I found out that Derek Lam sunglasses are ridiculously expensive. Like, if I’m going to drop $500, it’s not going to be on sunglasses (it would be on frozen yogurt, let’s be honest). I guess if you’re going to spend that much money on something, sunglasses wouldn’t be the worst and these would definitely be worth that much. They will probably last me a long long time, so I guess $500 isn’t all that bad. But I assure you, I didn’t pay that much for mine. I got them for less than $50 at Winners (again, omg it’s almost like 90% of my things are from there). They are the best though, honestly. I love them so much. They’re so comfortable, they’re so cute, they protect my eyes really well. They’re probably the best sunglasses I’ve ever had honestly.

S’well water bottle

https://well.ca/products/swell-wood-collection-stainless_92885.html?cat=4104

So this is an odd one but I’ve been using it all summer and loving at all summer so I added it in. Swell water bottles are a big thing here this year. I don’t really know why cause it’s just a water bottle, but my friend got me one for my birthday. She works at Chapter’s so she got a pretty good discount. It is a great water bottle. It’s super pretty and goes with my chill yet tough aesthetic I’ve got going on (not really but I try). Idk I just really like it.

Book: the Goldfinch by Donna Tartt

Movie: Zootopia; Inception (I know it’s not new but I just watched it this summer and I really like it)

Let me know what you’ve been loving or if you’ve tried any of these!

Ally xx

One Reply to “Summer Favourites”

Leave a Reply

