Summer 2016 Reading Goals

New

  • the Goldfinch by Donna Tartt (review here)
  • the Story of Beautiful Girl by Rachel Simon
  • the Book of Negros by Lawrence Hill
  • the White Masai by Corine Hofmann
  • A Feast for Crows by George RR Martin

Rereads

  • the Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood
  • Exit the Actress by Priya Parmar

 

I’ve been on summer break since the beginning of May, but the only books I’ve read are the old, crappy, young adult romance novels that I read in junior high (oops lol). I read a lot of journal articles for my summer job, so I figure I deserve a brain break when I’m at home and can read the crappy books.

But, my family and I are going on vacation soon and I’m super excited and, of course, I’m planning on bringing my Kindle and a couple books. I’ll also probably bring my favourite Harry Potter book (click here to find out which one it is!), but I figure that’s a given and I could probably recite it word-for-word, so it’s not on this list because it’s not really a reread.

The first two books on my new list were recommended to me by my boyfriend’s mom. She reads a lot, and The Story of Beautiful Girl is her favourite book, so I figured I gave it a go. I have a used copy I got at the best bookstore in the entire world, The Bookshop in Penticton, B.C. (if you’re ever in the area, please do yourself a favour and go in there. It’s literally my idea of heaven and I might do an entire post about it).

I’ve wanted to read The Book of Negros for the longest time and it’s been sitting on my bed-side table since Christmas, so I’m making it my mission to read it this summer.

I was given The White Masai for my birthday from my parents. My mom said she read it when she was in her undergrad and she loved it, so I have my own copy now and, as it was a gift, am technically obligated to read it (it sounds really good so that’s not a terrible obligation).

I technically have been reading A Feast For Crows since last summer, but if any of you have read the series, you know you can’t just stop and expect to remember what’s happened. So at this point, I have to restart it. My brother is now ahead of me in the series, which is really annoying so I need to catch up 😉

The two on my reread list are just books I remember loving but haven’t read in forever. The Handmaid’s Tale is my mom’s favourite book and I loved it when I read it, so I’ll probably bring it when I go on vacation so she can read it too. Exit the Actress is one of my favourite historical fiction novels (there’s a review coming soon!!) so I would like to read it again and relive it’s wonderfullness (yes, it’s a word).

I’ll hopefully do an updated post at the end of the summer giving my reviews on the books I read. If I feel really strongly about any of them, they’ll probably get their own review (and they might anyway, honestly).

As always, let me know if you’ve read any of these books and what you think of them!

Ally xx

Leave a Reply

